sticky date cake with butterscotch sauce

September 15, 2008 at 11:50 pm | Posted in Cakes, Fruit | 8 Comments

null

when i was younger, i used to balk at the idea of dates in cakes or any dessert for that matter. i even had issues eating dates on its own (it’s a good practice for muslims to have dates during break fast) but as age caught up, i’m starting to like it. i think it’s the cloying sweetness of some varieties of dates that puts me off, which is why i love a particular type called ajwa. it’s a bit drier than most types, hence the sweetness is a little muted. it doesn’t come cheap though – apparently it’s the most expensive of dates.

i only had sticky date cake (or pudding, depending on how it’s prepared) once earlier this year at the marmalade pantry and i was swept off my feet. it’s not a dessert you can readily find here. i was foodblog-hopping and came across a recipe, so i immediately called up my mum who was out shopping at geylang to get me some dates.

null

the cake was sufficiently spongy and moist, and because i increased the amount of dates to nearly 400g instead of the stated 300g, the flavour really came through. the butterscotch sauce could have been a little thicker, but no major complaints about that. maybe next time i shall try the steamed version.

oh yes, while we’re on the topic of dates… try a date milkshake sometime. πŸ™‚

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow, a date milkshake, there’s something I haven’t heard of before!! I’ll have to try it some time this week, as I have a piece of extension work from my cooking class at school where I have to make a smoothie/milkshake/youghurt drink at home πŸ˜‰

    And feel free to link me up, I certainly don’t mind, you’ll be my first person to do so!! πŸ˜€

  2. Oh yumzz! I have been wanting to try this for quite sometime now. I guess I’m gonna try this after Ramadan…when I have time in hand. Got to hide away some good dates for this :p

  3. ifoundafish: wow i wish i had cooking classes! πŸ˜€

    maya: hey, you’re my namesake! yes do try this recipe, it’s quite good! if you want it to be more moist you could try steaming it instead of baking. πŸ™‚

  4. tehe, I make it sound so impressive… it really was a one-off kinda thing. But I’d love cooking classes too!!! Maybe I’ll start a course one of these days. Can I have the recipe for a date milkshake please? [unless it really is just milk and dates] :p

  5. i had such a good memory of sticky date pudding from my trip to Australia.. soo lusciously GOOD! u must try the sticky date pudding at Brown Sugar Cafe Bistro sometime!

  6. emily: it’s just really dates and milk! i had it at a restaurant a couple of times so i don’t have the recipe. lol.

    sihan: ooo ok i shall if i have the chance! πŸ˜€

  7. anyway girl, i passed you a blog award! Do check it out here okie?

  8. Might Be The Best Ever Yet


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

